• English
  • Русский

Niranjana Swami's Quote Of The Day

November 18

The acaryas have explained that these six categories(utsaha-mayi, ghana-tarala, vyudha-vikalpa, visaya-sangara, niyamaksama, taranga-rangini) of unsteady devotional service only to help us look at ourselves. Don’t spend time trying to categorize the advancement or perceived lack of advancement of other devotees. Try to understand how to make spiritual advancement. Having come in contact with bhakti-yoga, be very, very careful that you do not lose this rare chance to love, which is available only in this human form of life.
(LFD, Vol2, Being Careful to Avoid Anisthita-bhakti, Pg 55, 5th paragraph)

November 17

The second stage of anisthita bhakti is called ghana-tarala, which literally means “thick-thin” or sporadic endeavor. Sometimes we are enthusiastic and think, “I feel good about my practice of bhakti. I am getting the respect I deserve and the results I am earning. Everything is going so nicely.” But then things change: “This  consciousness is too difficult. I have no taste, and no one respects me.” We lose our enthusiasm.  Sometimes when we lose our enthusiasm, we also lose our ability to practice regulated sadhana. We get absorbed in material consciousness, then begin to suffer, and take up the chanting again. We gain a little steadiness, then stop again, because we have not discovered the importance of chanting or the truth about ourselves.
(LFD, Vol2, Being Careful to Avoid Anisthita-bhakti, Pg 53, and Pg 54)

November 16

The first characteristic of ignorance is to accept that which is temporary to be eternal; to accept that which is impure to be pure; and to accept that which is not this body to be the body. The second characteristic of ignorance is to accept the objects of the senses as real. The third symptom of ignorance is called raga or attachment, and is to be attached to happiness and to be averse to distress. The fourth symptom of ignorance is dvesa, which means hatred towards suffering and anything that we see as the cause of our suffering. The fifth form of ignorance is called abhinivesa, which means to instinctively cling to the idea that we can enjoy with this body, and the fear that death means no more enjoyment.
LFD Vol 3,Cultivating Krishna Conciousness Pg 175,last paragraph.

November 15

There is a verse in which Srila Rupa Gosvami says, avyartha-kalatvam: [Cc. Madhya 23.18-19] a devotee should be very much careful to see whether his time is being spent unnecessarily. He should ask himself, “Am I now engaged in maya’s service or Krishna’s service?” This is a symptom of an advanced devotee. Nama-gane sada rucih: such a devotee is never tired of chanting, singing, or dancing. The word sada means “always,” and ruci means “taste.”
LFD Vol 3,Cultivating Krishna Conciousness Pg 172, 3rd paragraph.

November 14

Now Kuntidevi says, “My dear Krishna, if You think that we are well established now that we have our kingdom back, and if You therefore want to leave us, that is not a very good proposal. We are not free yet. Because we have killed so many kings, all their friends and relatives are planning to come fight with us again. So don’t think that we are free from all dangers. We are not. And we have no protection other than Your lotus feet. That is our position.” Thus she indirectly says to Krishna, “Do not leave us. Don’t think that we are now safe. Without Your protection, we are always unsafe.”
LFD Vol 3,Cultivating Krishna Conciousness Pg 172, 1st paragraph.

November 13

If a person is driving on a very dangerous road, usually he will see signs posted, warning of any dangers on the road—such as “Dangerous curve ahead.” However, if the driver is not attentive and does not look at the signs, then he may drive right off the mountain. Thus, when we advance in spiritual life, we have to be careful about the important signs that the acaryas have left for us: “Dangerous curve ahead! Slow down! Be more attentive! Don’t fall asleep at the wheel!” All the warnings are there, and if we do not listen to them, thinking, “I am a devotee and I can just go on chanting Hare Krsna,” then we will miss the curve and drive off the mountain! Being aware of the obstacles, we should learn how to apply the proper instructions that are given to avoid those obstacles and dangers. One of the great dangers for a devotee is inattentive chanting.
LFD Vol 3,Cultivating Krishna Conciousness Pg 171, last paragraph.

November 12

At every stage of devotional service, chanting of the holy name of the Lord is the recommended process for cleaning. In the beginning, the Lord will overlook our offenses, but as we progress and learn a few more things, then we are held accountable for those offenses. If we are not careful about that, then those offenses will drag us down and cause us to lose our taste and determination. When one makes a little advancement in spiritual life, he has to come to the realization that it is time to clean out all the finer dust particles that will drag us down. Tattva-vibhrama is a type of anartha, which means ignorance of the obstacles that prevent us from making advancement in devotional service. We should not stay in ignorance. We should know what the obstacles are.
LFD Vol 3,Cultivating Krishna Conciousness Pg 170, 4th paragraph.

November 11

The existence of anarthas within our heart is our cause of difficulty. Prabhupada says that the process of devotional service is the process of purification. When we are becoming purified, the anarthas are gradually coming to the surface, and they become increasingly noticeable. Such anarthas are the desire for prestige; jiva-himsa—which is envy and enmity for living entities; nisiddhacara—unacceptable behavior for those trying to attain perfection; kutanati—diplomacy; lobha—mundane profiteering; puja—adoration achieved by satisfying mundane people; and pratistha-adi—becoming an important man in material calculations. These anarthas need to be cleaned out.
LFD Vol 3,Cultivating Krishna Conciousness Pg 170, 4th paragraph.

November 10

When you want to buy something, you have to give something in return. Therefore, if you want to buy pure devotional service, you have to purchase it with your faith. To the degree that you place your faith, to that degree you will get some return for it. Advancement in devotional service is simply advancement to the degree of our faith, and that faith will be tested along the way.
LFD Vol 3,Cultivating Krishna Conciousness Pg 169, 2nd last paragraph.

November 9

Devotional service is the cultivation of consciousness that simultaneously awakens a genuine attachment. The material world exists only as a dream due to our attachment to it, but it is a temporary manifestation that has no connection with reality. We identify with it and think it is real when it is happening. But when we wake up, we see it was only a dream.
LFD Vol 3,Cultivating Krishna Conciousness Pg 167, 2nd last paragraph.